Is Our Love Of Convenience, Now A Problem ?

appetite-1239200__180.jpg

We are quite literally surrounded by food, any walk down, any street, in any town in most parts of the world and you are sure to come across it. But this convenience and easy access to food is coming at a cost. No problem with occasional indulgence, but not when it becomes part of our daily diet.

Not sure what the facts are in your part of the world, but here in my part of the world the stats are not pleasant.

  • By 2030, Ireland will have become the most unhealthy country in the world.
  • Prior to 2000, a dietary clinic in Birmingham had never dealt with children.
  • The NHS in England now sets aside 1/ 10 of it’s annual budget to deal conditions brought on by eating unhealthy foods. That’s 10 Billion pounds sterling, no my finger did not slip I said billion !!

Apart from from the obvious health problems we are storing up for ourselves, the financial cost is chilling. So when the government puts up your taxes soon, while they might not say it directly, you might well be paying a fast food tax.

So if you wonder why I write this blog, well the importance of eating well can not be underestimated. What made me change my outlook to food ? Was it the health messages that I heard, No. Was it my family saying that I needed to eat a better diet ? No. In the end I changed because I learnt that it came down to me and the choices I was making. Like not fixing  a dripping tap, I was storing up problems for the future, that’s when the lightbulb moment happened for me.

While you may not have reached that point yet, don’t lose heart. If you decide to make different choices today  both your body and your wallet will thank you for it in time.

So make the healthier choice today !!

Leave a Reply

